Log in
Log in

The APHE board of directors is comprised of 12-15 individuals elected by the APHE membership to provide organizational leadership and oversight. APHE seeks board members who are experts in the field and are driven to ensure that the organization's purpose, mission, and vision are defined and achievable.  The entire board serves in a volunteer capacity and works tirelessly to support those that promote empathy through education.  

Row (from left to right):

Melissa Logan, President

Alberta SPCA

Ashley Stanley, Vice-President

Wayside Waifs

Emily Strongin, Membership Secretary Humane Society of Charlotte 

Darlene Blackman, Treasurer Liaison Marin Humane

Robin O'Brien, Recording Secretary ASPCA

Heather Franco, Member-at-Large
East Bay SPCA

Savanna New, Technology Chair
Jacksonville Humane Society

Christine Davis, Conference Chair
SPCA Serving Erie County

Kim Ferris-Church

Lollypop Farm, the Humane Society of Greater Rochester

Heather Grogan
Charleston Animal Society

Inge Koopman-Leyva
Humane Society of Southern Arizona

Adora R. Negrón Gómez
Colegio de Médicos Veterinarios de Puerto Rico

Cindy Walden
Code 3 ACO Coalition - Retired ACO

Kylie Wiest

Charleston Animal Society

Interested in joining the board?  Contact

Advisors serve as critical contributors to the advancement of APHE. Advisors share their gifts in service to our mission by providing our organization with professional expertise, diverse knowledge of constituent perspectives, connections to local, national, or international resources, colleagues or peers, and other forms of needed assistance. They provide APHE with recommendations and opinions on matters related to APHE and help promote humane education and the work of APHE. Advisors have no governing function within the organization.  Advisor terms are two years in length.


Individuals are eligible for Senior Advisor status if at least one of the following criteria is met: 

1. The individual is a past APHE board member (with at least one full term of service)

2. The individual has a unique or technical skill that will add to the advancement of APHE.

© Association of Professional Humane Educators